Apple Spice Cupcakes with Vanilla Bean Frosting and Caramel Drizzle

I seem to be finding myself combining cupcake and frosting recipes more and more. One for the top and one for the bottom! I just can’t seem to find that perfect match… or maybe I just want the best of both worlds. Either way I collected buckets and buckets of complements from these little guys and I just might have had two or three myself… which says allot for a girl who rarely eats what she bakes. Yes, I don’t eat them. I think it has to do with the fact that I see each of these little guys as a labor of love. Why would I ever want to work so hard on something and not share it! If I eat one, it’s just one less smile on someone else’s face.

(Taken from http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2012/09/16/apple-spice-cupcakes-with-salted-caramel-frosting/)

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 2/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk (I used almond milk)
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 and 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 small apples, chopped into fine pieces (about 1.5 cups)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Line muffin pan with baking cups. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, melted butter, sugars, milk, and vanilla until completely smooth.  Set aside.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Slowly add the wet ingredients and stir until JUST combined.  Do not overmix. Slowly mix in the apples.

Fill each baking cup about 2/3 full and bake for 22-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Mine took 22 minutes.  Allow to cool and frost.

Frosting

“Basic Vanilla Bean” (I cant remeber where I found the recipe! So sorry!!)

??????????????????????????????? OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA ???????????????????????????????

2 thoughts on “Apple Spice Cupcakes with Vanilla Bean Frosting and Caramel Drizzle

  1. These were truly fascinating. I got 3, and I reluctantly shared one…devoured the other 2 like a hooligan getting in-n-out for the first time outta juvie!

Leave a Reply

